Chapter 20 – Ghostly Love

30 01 2010

I figured that the picture below would a fitting way to kick off this chapter, given the title and all. It is Neutron having his first kiss with a ghost lady he met at the graveyard. However, it is perhaps a misleading picture, because I’ve decided to take a bit of a break with the ghosts, at least for a generation or two. 

The thing is, I’ve discovered how interesting the living can be. In the past, the Dodgers mostly interacted with townies to steal from them or marry them. Thus it wasn’t until I got Electron started befriending everyone for his charisma challenges that I realized how weird my townies are. Case in point: the demonically possessed jogger

Demonically possessed jogger: “Satan is my personal trainer!”

Or how about these three, freaking the heck out in front of the town hall. What could it possibly be that has them so disgusted/horrified/flabbergasted?

…ah

 

Right, moving on then.

Electron has been attracting quite the crowd every time he ventures out into town with his guitar. The ladies all flock to hear him play.

Even the dead ones

After the concert, Electron went over to greet his biggest fan, free-floating ghost Eileen Remington

Eileen: “I heard your playing all the way from the graveyard and I just couldn’t stay down there in my coffin when there was such beautiful music filtering down through the soil so I’ve decided to come out and haunt you forever and ever and ever to the end of both our days!”

Electron: “Um, thanks?”

  

His twin brother’s popularity with the town womenfolk has come in handy for Neutron. after discovering that they shared the Good trait, Neutron has become good friends with Gabriela, one of the ladies from the Bistro last chapter.

Which means it is time for Fuse to head over to a rich neighbor’s kitchen again and whip up some fish flavored cake.

 

This time it truly is a selfless act because, evil as he may be, Fuse has no desire to kill his little bro. Neutron is too sweet to kill!

 

Neutron: “Hey, I’m solid! Or wait, no, I can still put my hand through this chair.”

Neutron: “And I can punch my fist through this pan!”

In Rad’s (excellent) legacy Dayes of Our Lives she recently wondered whether a slop who licks a plate that once had ambrosia on it would get some of the magical sparkly effects of the dish. I tried this out with Winona, but although she seems to be enjoying it quite a bit, there wasn’t any additional mood effect. Don’t know if that holds true for ghost slobs as well.

But on a more important subject – ladies and gentlemen may I introduce the next heir. I was going to do an heir poll but then I decided that, fond as I am of Fuse and Electron (and even Anchovy although he is deadly boring), Neutron was practically tailor made for the job. His lifetime want is to be surrounded by family! Besides, who could resist that adorable smile.

Not Gabriela, that’s for sure.

  

Neutron: “Oh Gabriela my sugar honey sweet will you come be my wifey-poo and live with me in a world of fluffy bunnies and happy babies?”

Gabriela: “But of course I will my little gummi bear cutie pie!”

 

*gag*

Anyway, the two wed at the gazebo thing downtown. It was my first location party ever in the game, so pretty exciting!

 

Neutron: “Shnooki-wookie-wookums will you be mine for better or for bestest? For richer or for billionare-er? In health or in super good health? Until crossing the big rainbow bridge in the sky do us part?”

   

Midway through the vows, though, I was distracted by the be-tuxed lady in the background. My first location party and my first magician!

  

Electron rushed over immediately to introduce himself and so I could see if magicians do anything special when you talk to them.

Electron: “That’s so cool that you’re a magician! Can you do magic tricks? Could you turn me into a frog?”

Magician Lady: “Nah, but I do get to wear this sweet top hat.”

The two bonded over their gender non-conformity while the ceremony wrapped up.

Electron: “Your outfit is much better than the grim reaper’s. That evil monk look is so passé.” 

His stalker was not far away.

Eileen: “Electron is the best. I just wish he would notice me. It’s like every time I’m around him he just looks right through me! As if I were transparent or something, can you believe it?

Gabriela’s lifetime want turned out to be Surrounded By Family as well, so she and Neutron really are a perfect couple. Here are her traits:

 

I was a bit surprised when I discovered, upon viewing her relationships bar, that Neutron was not her first love! Guess Gabriela goes both ways.

Speaking of which, shortly after the wedding, I observed this couple hanging out on a park bench. You may recognize them as two of the three freaky townies at the beginning of this chapter. I didn’t actually realize that the game would autonomously pair off same-sex couples, but that’s pretty cool. I’m just glad these two could find love!

Not everyone is so lucky…

That’s it for now. Tune in next time for Chapter 21: Stocking up on Diapers